2021 Program

October 2, 2021, 12:00–6:00 pm PST

The FUTURE Ignited Webinar will begin at 12:00 pm PST on Saturday, October 2, 2021. Questions? Email easfuture@caltech.edu.

Click on arrows to toggle for more information below.

Campuswide Program

12:00 – 12:30 pm

Welcome to Caltech
Tom Rosenbaum, President; Sonja and William Davidow Presidential Chair; Professor of Physics

Overview of Research at Caltech
Michelle Effros, Vice Provost; George Van Osdol Professor of Electrical Engineering

Introduction to Future Ignited
Bil Clemons, Professor of Biochemistry

12:30 – 1:20pm

Moderator: Tashiana Bryant-Myrick, Director, Caltech Center for Inclusion and Diversity

  • Jordan Benjamin, Environmental Science and Engineering
  • Karen Orta, Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
  • Reina Buenconsejo, Chemistry
  • Marcos Gallo, Social and Decision Neuroscience

1:20 – 1:30 pm Break

1:30 – 2:15 pm

Funding for Graduate School
with David Chan, Professor of Biology; Dean of Graduate Studies

Securing Strong Letters of Recommendation
with Candace Rypisi, Assistant Vice Provost and Director, Student-Faculty Programs

2:15 – 3:00 pm

Writing a Compelling Personal Statement (for seniors)
with Erin Burkett, Lecturer in Engineering; Graduate Writing Instructor, Hixon Writing Center

Undergraduate Research Opportunities (for sophomores and juniors)
with Maria Manzanares, Associate Director, Student-Faculty Programs

3:00 – 3:15 pm Break

EAS Division Program

3:15 – 3:25 pm

Introduction to EAS by Harry Atwater, Otis Booth Leadership Chair; Howard Hughes Professor of Applied Physics and Materials Science

Meeting ID: 863 5116 1788

3:25 – 4:00 pm


  • Robby Gray, Electrical Engineering
  • Zac Iton, Materials Science
  • Eric Ocegueda, Mechanical Engineering
  • Jennifer Sun, Computing and Mathematical Sciences

Meeting ID: 863 5116 1788

4:00 – 4:35 pm


  • Sunita Darbe, VP of Sustainability, Spiber Inc.
  • Sharlotte Kramer, Sandia National Labs
  • Carlos Portela, Faculty, MIT

Meeting ID: 863 5116 1788

4:35 – 5:15 pm


  • Adam Blank, Teaching Assistant Professor of Computing and Mathematical Sciences
  • Andrei Faraon, Professor of Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering
  • Melany Hunt, Dotty and Dick Hayman Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Beverley McKeon, Theodore von Karman Professor of Aeronautics; EAS Division Deputy Chair
  • Austin Minnich, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Physics
  • Chris Umans, Professor of Computer Science; Executive Officer for Computing and Mathematical Sciences

Meeting ID: 863 5116 1788

Campuswide Program

5:15 – 5:55 pm

5:55 – 6:00 pm

Assessment and Swag

lab demo with students